Banana Cake

I wanted to cut out a nice piece of these bars and take a good picture. I even left a note by the pan. My mother promptly disregarded the note and dug in. I started to go on a rant about how I wanted to take a picture and it needed to be nice looking and so on.

She then declared the bars “the best dessert that I have ever made”. I then forgave her for not waiting for pictures.

I have been trying to create my own recipes. I am comfortable making some tweaks to other recipes but have not gotten very adventurous in the creation! I am always curious as to how all of the amazing bloggers I follow come up with such delicousness.

My method for this cake was “throw everything in a food processor and hope for the best”. Most of the time, the second or third or fourteenth try comes out delicious. Rarely do you get a hole in one. This cake came together magically. I am so glad I wrote down what I used and actually measured it as I went. I definitely want to make this one again!

My mother made tons of banana bars when we were growing up… It was our “go-to” dessert and I have been trying to recreate it. Completely by accident, these are the closest that I have come to reproducing those.

20130908-195828.jpg

 

Banana Cake

Makes: 9 Bars

Ingredients:
1/2 cup dates (I used medjool)
3 ripe bananas
1-1/2 cups almond meal
2 eggs
1/4 cup coconut oil (softened/melted)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
10 drops vanilla liquid stevia (or to taste)

Directions:
Soak dates in warm water for about 30 minutes to soften. Discard soaking liquid.

In a food processor, blend dates and bananas and puree until smooth.

Add in almond flour and pulse until well mixed. Add in eggs and mix well.

Throw everything else into the food processor and puree until it’s all combined nicely.

Pour into a greased 8×8 pan and bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

 

This cake is soft and dense and delicious. I topped it with a cashew cream frosting, but it would be equally delicious with a bit of powdered sugar and cinnamon or a chocolate ganache. For more chocolaty goodness, you could add some miniature chocolate chips to the batter.

 

One thought on “Banana Cake

Leave a Reply

