Mini Chocolate Mousse Pies

I love summer. I love being outside. My class asked if we could have class outside this week and I said yes. How could I say no?! So we looked ridiculous practicing our first aid skills in the grass in front of the building with a bunch of traffic flying by. But it was glorious.

I love fall marathons… the weather is usually perfect. But the only thing I don’t love about summer is how hot it can get so early; what I don’t love about fall marathons is the fact that you have to either run in the zillion degree heat or get up super early to run when its cool. I am almost always in the “get up early” camp. I hate being hot. And when you are running (if you are me, anyway), 70 degrees feels like 90. The hard part about being in the “get up early camp” is actually getting up early. (It helps if you go to bed early, just FYI) But I love the peacefulness and the stillness of first thing in the morning. The sun is out but it’s not blazing hot, the streets are usually quiet, and you see other people out running… the people who are happy to be running usually wave.

I am less than 1 week into marathon training and I am tired. How does this happen? Sunday’s long run was the official onset of training. And I am beat. Tired tired tired. So my morning run has gotten pushed back a little bit because bed sounds so much better. Upon review of my training logs, I realized that I have only had one 30+ mile week this whole year and I will hit 35 miles this week after 2 weeks of almost no running. So my heaviest mileage week this year to date combined with 3 days of Crossfit – I think I know why I’m tired.

So what’s a girl with no energy to do? Sleep is a good option, obviously. Make coffee! Make things with coffee. I am like a caffeinated Julia Child (“I like cooking with coffee, sometimes I even put it in the food” – less funny than her version). I made some cold brew concentrate last week and am pretty pleased with how it turned out! Check it out – tasty cold brew.

And with a good solid nap and some delicious coffee, I have the energy to create culinary goodness yet again. Like mini chocolate mousse pies.

photo 4

photo 2 (1)

 

There’s a small chance this is the most delicious fluffy vegan chocolate mousse I have ever created. This might actually just be the most delicious thing I have ever created. And for reasons unbeknownst to me, I felt compelled to measure things. With actual measuring cups and then write down what I did. So I actually have a recipe for this deliciousness!! That almost never happens. I usually just throw things together and hope they work out well… some things turn out awesome and I don’t remember how I made them! Anyway…. this recipe is super delicious, super quick and super easy – if you can press buttons, you can make mousse. And you can’t even taste the avocados, I promise. Just pure chocolaty goodness.

 

Mini Chocolate Mousse Pies

Yield: 20-24 mini pies

Ingredients

Pie Crust

Whatever pie crust you want – I use THIS ONE from Kelly at The Spunky Coconut.

Mousse

2 large ripe avocados
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup maple syrup, or to taste
1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)
cream from 1 can of full-fat coconut milk

Garnishes (optional)

sliced strawberries
coconut flakes
chocolate shavings
slivered almonds

 

Make your pie crust. Press it into the bottom of greased muffin tins (I always just use cupcake liners) and bake according to directions. You can make them into little mini cup shapes if you like – they hold the mousse better. Keep an eye on them – they probably will not need to bake as long as indicated in the recipe. If you use the recipe above, I bake them at 350 for 10-12 minutes.

Put everything but the coconut milk in a food processor and puree until silky smooth. No one likes chunky mousse. (Or chunky moose).

Add in your coconut cream and puree again. If you want it super super fluffy, whip your coconut cream first and then gently fold it into your avocado puree. (check out this link for help with coconut cream)

When your little pie crusts have cooled, spoon your mousse on top. Place in the refrigerator to set – an hour or two. Garnish with whatever you like.

Enjoy!! You could also make this as one big pie – I imagine it would be delicious!

 

 

This post was featured on Allergy Free Wednesdays.

 

One thought on “Mini Chocolate Mousse Pies

  1. Pingback: - Whole New Mom

Leave a Reply

