Tri-Color Slaw and Maple Bacon Gel. Yummmmm.

I love an adventure. I love trying new foods. As long as it won’t make me sick, I will try just about anything. Including maple bacon flavored carbohydrate gels.

 

It was really not all that good. It wasn’t the worst one I’ve ever tried, but it was really not that good. And I couldn’t get the packet to open… so when I did, it exploded all over my hands. Gross. While it wasn’t something I want to have as a snack when I’m not running, I am impressed with Vfuel. Their ingredients are not anything terrifying (they explain what everything is on their website), there isn’t a bunch of junk in them, and they didn’t make me sick. So that’s all a big win in my book. I have their fudge brownie flavor to try next. We’ll see how that goes. I’m also trying Huma gels … the first ingredient is fruit puree, which I think is awesome. I hear they also taste good, which is even better.

I have also had good experiences with Hammer products. Namely the Montana Huckleberry flavored gel. I might even go as far as to say it tastes good, which is saying a lot. I have a pretty sensitive stomach, especially when I’m running and I have never had an issue with Hammer gels, even if the taste isn’t my favorite. No one is paying me for this (I wish!), so this is just a shameless plug for a few of my favorite things. As much as I love real food, it is so much more convenient to carry gels during a race. So I have been incorporating them on my long runs so I can find out what I want to race with.

Anyway, after my morning with sugar in a packet, I was more than happy to eat some real food! I made curry roasted butternut squash with chicken breast as my post-run lunch and it was amazing. I’m pretty sure I could eat an entire butternut squash this way. So. Good.

Dinner was a barbecue with some of my favorite people. Burgers, kale salad with cranberries, quinoa, and almonds, and this Tricolor Slaw from The Kitchn. Super easy and super delicious. I used the slicing blade on my food processor and I made an obscene amount of slaw in less than 15 minutes. I used olive oil instead of peanut or safflower oil. (There is some really good info on cooking/ eating fats here and here.) My slaw did not come out nearly as pretty as this picture, but it was still delicious. Which is definitely good because I made enough to feed a small army and I will be eating it every day this week.  It would also be great for a 4th of July BBQ!

2012_03_22-Slaw03.jpg

(image courtesy of Faith Durand at The Kitchn)

I love slaws. They are so adaptable, so easy, and so tasty. What are your go-to side dishes?

 

 

Leave a Reply

