Banana Cake with Chocolate Ganache and Cinnamon Buttercream

I subscribe to the Cake Blog because I love looking at all the fun cakes and when this little gem showed up in my inbox, I knew I needed it in my life. Banana Choco Hazelnut Cake? Um, yes please! And with my parents anniversary party coming up, I had a great excuse to make it. With a few modifications, of course, as all-purpose flour and dairy products are not going to fly.

I try not to make recipes for the first time before an event/ gathering unless the recipe got lots of great reviews and I follow it almost to the letter. I also try to test out substitutions before I make food for people other than my immediate family. I just want to know that what I’m going to be serving people is delicious. People have this idea that gluten-free and dairy-free = disgusting, so I try to ensure that I’m not perpetuating the stereotype. At any rate, I broke both of my rules here and made a cake I had never tried before and experimented with substitutions.

I was ecstatic (and relieved) when this cake turned out wonderfully! I got great feedback from everyone and my uncle even ate it for breakfast. It turned out rather rich with the chocolate and buttercream, but definitely delicious and I would say that it is worthy of a special occasion.

So ladies and gentlemen, I present to you a dairy-free, gluten-free Banana Chocolate Cake.

image

Banana Cake with Chocolate Ganache and Cinnamon “Buttercream”

Ingredients

3/4 cup sorghum flour

1/2 cup teff flour

1/4 cup arrowroot starch

3/4 tsp xanthan gum

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3 ripe bananas

1/2 cup Earth Balance soy-free buttery spread (or butter, if that’s your thing)

3/4 cup coconut sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup So Delicious Coconut Yogurt (Greek style)

 

Directions

1. Preheat your oven to 350 and prepare a 9″ baking pan. I used a springform pan lined with parchment paper.

2. In a small bowl, mash up the bananas. Set aside.

3. In another small bowl, mix all your dry ingredients together.

4. In a large bowl, mix the butter with an electric mixer until smooth.

5. Add sugar and mix until light and fluffy.

6. Mix in vanilla and eggs.

7. Add in half of the dry ingredient mixture and combine.

8. Add yogurt, mix well, then add in the rest of the dry ingredients

9. Fold in mashed bananas. Mine were still pretty chunky, so I just used my hand mixer to combine everything together.

10. Bake for ~35-40 minutes, until cake is golden brown

 

I made this a layer cake –  I cut it in half, added a chocolate ganache layer, and topped with chocolate ganache and cinnamon buttercream.

Alternatively, you could just top it with ganache or buttercream or both.

 

 

The finished product!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chocolate Ganache

8-10 oz dark chocolate chips (I like Guittard brand – they are dairy free!)

1/3 cup coconut oil

Melt in a double boiler over low heat until completely melted and combined. Allow to cool and slather on your cake!

 

Buttercream

1 cup Earth Balance soy-free spread (or butter)

Cream from one (14.5 oz) can full-fat coconut milk (or heavy whipping cream – 1/2 to 3/4 cup)

1 TBSP vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon (or to taste)

Mix your butter/ butter substitute until smooth. Add in coconut milk and vanilla and whip on medium-high until light and fluffy. Add in cinnamon and mix to combine. Store in refrigerator until ready to use.

 

Recipe Notes:

If you don’t have the specified flours, you can try 1 1/2 cups of your favorite all-purpose gluten free flour. Check to see if your blend contains xanthan/ guar gum.

You can use regular Greek Yogurt in place of the coconut milk Greek yogurt if you can do dairy. Likewise, you can use butter in all the places that I used Earth Balance. I don’t think coconut oil would work because of its low melting point.

 

 

This post was featured on Allergy Free Wednesdays.

One thought on “Banana Cake with Chocolate Ganache and Cinnamon Buttercream

  1. Pingback: That one time I made half a gallon of barbecue sauce… | Just Another Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

