That one time I made half a gallon of barbecue sauce…

Why? Because my parents celebrated their 30th anniversary recently and naturally, we needed to have a party. We looked at a few options and ultimately decided that making food would be the most cost effective. And the easiest way to cater to special diets. So off I went to Sam’s Club and filled my fridge with enough food to feed a small army. Which means enough to feed my immediate family for 3 days 🙂

The menu:

Appetizers –
Corn chips and Salsa
Veggie Tray and Hummus

Main –
Shredded BBQ pork and shredded BBQ chicken (Easiest way to shred chicken ever)
Homemade BBQ sauce (I used a modified version of this recipe)

My version:

2 cans tomato paste
1 cup chicken broth (or vegetable stock for vegetarian/vegan)
1/8 cup molasses
1/2 TBSP maple syrup
1/8 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 TBSP liquid aminos (or coconut aminos or gluten-free soy sauce/ tamari)
1/2 TBSP onion powder
1/2 TBSP garlic powder
1/2 TBSP smoked paprika
1/4 tsp cinnamon
salt and pepper to taste

Mix it all up and let it simmer for 10-20 minutes on the stove. Adjust seasoning as necessary. Or just mix and put it on your meat as it cooks.

Also, I quadrupled this recipe and stored it in a huge container. This was enough barbecue sauce to cover 30 pounds of meat. This recipe should make about 2 cups of sauce. As you can see, I made a lot!

BBQ sauce

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sides

Grilled Veggie and Wild Rice Salad – stay tuned for the recipe!
Rainbow Kale Slaw (got rave reviews, even from the kale haters in the crowd. I have made this a couple times and it always goes over well)
Fruit salad – watermelon, cantaloupe, pineapple, and grapes (I just used what was in season/ on sale)

rice saladkale slaw

 

Dessert

Sheet Cake from our Sam’s Club…. complete with a poor lettering job
Banana Chocolate Cake with Cinnamon “Buttercream” (gluten free, dairy free)

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It took a ton of prep work – I don’t think I’ve ever produced that much food in my life. It was like Thanksgiving on steroids. Fortunately, I had a bunch of help, which made it all easy!

Leave a Reply

