What I Fed Myself This Week

When I started this blog, I had high hopes that it would be a platform to share recipes that I developed myself. I love food, I love cooking, and being in the kitchen is my favorite way to get creative. It seemed like a great fit.

I learned that food styling and food photography are not my strong suit, botched recipes can get expensive, and it takes quite a bit of time and iterations to get a recipe dialed in enough to want to share it with the world.

I have a whole new respect for food bloggers. These days, my focus is running and Crossfit and meal planning, shopping, cooking, and eating takes up enough time as it is.

Most of what I cook is loosely based or “inspired by” the recipes I pick out.The ingredients are more like a suggestion or a framework to build off of. Unless you are baking. You should be reasonably precise with that or things will not go well for you. I’ve learned that the hard way more than twice.

But I realize that not everyone likes to meal plan. Not everyone knows where to start. We all have busy lives. It can be hard if you have never done it before.

So I wanted to start sharing what I am feeding myself – to share ideas with you, help you out if you are trying to cook at home more, or just to share some new recipes!

I use my slow cooker  and my grill religiously. Between the BF and I, we have a number of dietary considerations, so I typically rotate between broccoli, asparagus, and zucchini as our veggie side. Our carbohydrate/starch is typically rice (jasmine, sushi, arborio,etc.) or any variety of potato. Sometimes rice noodles. I’m working on incorporating quinoa. We eat simply and most of these meals require little prep time.

Sunday: Balsamic Braised Beef from the 21 Day Sugar Detox with Broccoli and Polenta

Monday: 30 Minute Cacciatore Chicken with Grilled Asparagus and Mashed Potatoes

Chicken Cacciatore

Tuesday: Filipino Style London Broil with Rice and Grilled Zucchini and Carrots

Wednesday: Ginger-Marinated Bulgogi-Style Chicken with Rice and Broccoli. This is one of my favorite marinades – I use some variant of it almost every week. I use tamari or coconut aminos instead of soy sauce for a gluten free option.

Thursday: Carnitas Nachos. Because Cinco de Mayo. Pork Verde, Baked Tortilla Chips, and all the fixings (avocado, salsa, cilantro, tomato, green onion, mango).

Paleo Pork Verde on www.PopularPaleo.com

Friday: Another favorite of mine and a marinade that I use almost weekly. Balsamic Rosemary Steak with broccoli and roasted red potatoes.

Steak, potato, and mushroom kabobs are soaked in a flavorful balsamic rosemary marinade and grilled to perfection! This takes steak and potatoes to a whole new level! | LoveGrowsWild.com

Saturday will be an adventure. I may or may not cook something. We might go out. It’s too soon to tell. I’m sure it will be delicious.

 

Happy eating!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

