Boredom and another Meal Plan

Almost one month ago today, I made the trek from Hopkinton to Boston on foot with 30,000 of my closest friends. I am realizing now that marathon training really did take up my whole life. I had a big goal and every choice I made was aimed at getting me closer. With the exception of a few nights where I drank entirely too much wine. Unless you want to call that carb-loading.

Marathon training meant my time was pretty much already accounted for. My training plan meant that I knew what I would be doing every morning, my diet plan meant I knew what, when, and how much I would be eating. Weekends meant long runs, Monday was a rest day, and I settled into a routine of working really hard.

Now I’m in this weird place of not training for anything and feeling kind of lazy and unmotivated. There is something so fulfilling about making progress towards a goal and I miss it. Working towards something so big is a ton of work and requires sacrifices, but I have always been proud of what I was doing. I have questioned my sanity more than twice, but working towards a big goal is something I really enjoy.

So the big question (still) is now what?! I have a couple random races scheduled in the next month and a half marathon on the docket for August. I can’t decide if I want to try to crush the half or not. I guess I don’t have to decide that for another couple of weeks.

I’m kicking around the idea of trying to get really strong. Spending my mornings and my afternoons in the gym picking up heavy things and putting them back down. But I am also the fastest I have ever been and I worry that prioritizing lifting right now will slow me down. Maybe a half in August and then spend the fall getting stronger? So many choices….

The one thing that hasn’t changed is trying to eat well. Here’s what’s on the agenda for this week:

Sunday: Game of Thrones party. I made some sweet potato fries. Apparently the secret to crispy fries is to give them a nice long soak first. I was not diligent about making sure they don’t touch each other… but they still turned out alright, just not as crispy as I might have hoped.

Monday: Lemon Chicken Breasts, Risotto, and Asparagus. We have had a weekend of dreary weather and risotto is one of my current favorite comfort foods. I ran out of arborio rice, so I used mostly arborio and some jasmine rice and it still turned out delicious.

I took a picture of this and only after we ate, I realized that I took a picture of the breast that I poked with the thermometer to make sure I wasn’t feeding us raw chicken. The juices started running out and long story short, it didn’t actually photograph well.

Tuesday: Tri-Tip. I use this recipe for inspiration. Most of the time I just throw together seasonings or a marinade, let it sit overnight and then off to the grill. I grill on high heat for 5 minutes per side, then turn the heat down to medium for ~10 minutes per side.

Wednesday: Copycat Red Robin Burgers from Paleo Parents. With chicken breasts, grilled pineapple, white rice, and broccoli.

Red Robin Recreation - copycat teriyaki Banzai Burgers as seen on Paleo Parents

Thursday: Super simple crockpot pulled pork. My recipe is pork loin + spices (whatever sounds good) + 1/4 cup water + crockpot. Let it hang out for 6-8 hours on low and enjoy.

Friday: We camped Friday night, so dinner was pan-fried chicken breasts and rice. We got a new campstove and it has 2 settings – off and Dante’s inferno. I’ll talk more about camp cooking next week. The trip was an adventure.

I got some awesome recipes in my inbox this week and I’m looking forward to trying them and sharing with you!

 

Leave a Reply

