A new season, a less neglected blog

This poor blog. Sits quietly for months and months until I feel inspired to write. It is the first thing to get pushed aside when my life gets busy. It’s a good thing it doesn’t have to be a money maker. Just a place to share and be creative and do the things I enjoy – running, lifting weights, cooking, and talking about those things!

The last few months were no different. I got busy and this blog got pushed aside. I had these epic plans to start a nonprofit organization and it fell through because the other founder and I disagreed on the best way to run it. Everything was ready to go, our first board meeting was scheduled, and it became obvious to me that it wasn’t going to be a smooth ride if we continued.

So then I had this grand idea to start my own business – people ask me for fitness and nutrition advice all the time, so I might as well make a business out of it. And while I really enjoy doing that, I learned that the grind and hustle of starting my own business is perhaps not for me. I don’t want to think about selling myself and building my brand all the time. I know that it is usually for a short period of time, but I am a workaholic and every free moment will be spent “hustling”. And that’s not how I want to live my life.

Fortunately for me, a position opened up in the department that I used to work for/where I did grad school. And they were pretty adamant that I should work there. It’s been wonderful. A little busy and chaotic as I realized that I shouldn’t work two jobs, but things are settling down and it’s great. I’m remembering that I like doing science. I get to be home at night. Things are busy but I have a great team. I have time to run and lift. And write.

I miss writing. Hopefully this new season brings more time to do that. I got my letter from the B.A.A. informing me that I got into the 2017 Boston Marathon and I am so excited to start training for that! So many good things on the horizon for me. Stay tuned 🙂

Leave a Reply

