I trained for 4 months to eat this dinner

Motivation comes in all forms. My current motivation is my epic post-marathon dinner indulgence. Looking at the incredible menus from restaurants all over Boston and thinking about what a glorious meal that will be.

Gluten free, dairy free waffles at the Red Lentil in Watertown, MA. 

To eat a glorious post-marathon meal, you have to run a marathon. It is the most well-earned meal I eat all year. 4+ months of training to eat dinner. I hear the training is a helpful step. This time last year, I was still in decent half marathon shape. I ran an incredibly unmotivated half marathon yesterday for the first time in 6 months. I’m starting to remember that there is a reason lots of people don’t run marathons and that it takes a special kind of person to run for hours on end “for fun”. Yes, I’m running that far on a weekend. On purpose. Because I choose to. Image result for will run for food

I then spent the rest of the day hammering out the intricate details of my training plan. Every day for the next 20 weeks is planned out. I am fortunate that my life can start to revolve around training. I’ll lose one weekend day each week to a long run and recovery. I hate it by week 16, but I also secretly love it. There is something so addicting about feeling simultaneously exhausted and invincible. And it gives me so much time to plan my victory meal.

 

 

Leave a Reply

